Northgate Technologies Sets Up Social Media India To Promote BharatStudent.com
BSE listed Northgate Technologies has informed the bourses that they’ve set up an Indian subsidiary called Social Media India Ltd, which will seek online advertising for their social networking portal BharatStudent.com. Vishnu Vardhan Induri, head of Bharatstudent.com has been appointed MD of Social Media India. [via the Hindu] The portal was launched on March 10 this year by Axill Europe, a UK based wholly owned subsidiary of Northgate.
Now Bharatstudent is a rather controversial site: it’s alleged that they’re hosting pornographic content, and luring users from Orkut by posting links to that content on scraps…not something that the exchanges and investors would like to know.
Posted In: Money, Social Media

Comments (16)
Aug 28, 2007 12:38 PM
Quote
Bharatstudent is a rather controversial site: it’s alleged that they’re hosting pornographic content, and luring users from Orkut by posting links to that content on scraps…not something that the exchanges and investors would like to know.
Unquote
Nikhil, it’s not simply “alleged”. It’s right out there that the exchanges and investors can’t miss.
Hundreds of Orkut communities are spammed with objectionable content, with tons of direct links to Bharatstudent.com in communities message board. If they do deny this sneaky attempt to steal the Orkut network, then they’d better issue a disclaimer (to convince their investors/exchanges), and stop their subversive activities, simply to show inbound traffic to their advertisers, investors and exchanges.
I’m sure, they have platoon of temp. hires to spam Orkut and possibly other popular networks.
Wonder why Orkut isn’t doing anything about Bharatstudent.com and its like? They’re a menace!!!
Aug 28, 2007 1:25 PM
“Wonder why Orkut isn’t doing anything about Bharatstudent.com and its like”
simple answer : Google is not a Fly swatter .killing /blocking them will make them a worthy adversary . which they are not . by any stretch of imagination .
sites like Bharatstudent.com will have their 5 minutes of fame and die .
seriously i don’t see a point why they are paying for server space and bandwidth to host all the crap .
Aug 28, 2007 1:46 PM
prashant,
“i don’t see a point why they are paying for server space and bandwidth to host all the crap…”
simple so the shareholders can pump and dump the stock.
Aug 28, 2007 3:25 PM
Whats the point in creating a separate entity to manage its online duties.. and to top of it the same person will lead the entity.
Their online duties(activities) are anyways in news for wrong reasons.. ??
Aug 28, 2007 11:33 PM
Hi,
Ya seems quite controversial.
Aug 29, 2007 7:52 AM
well, this company is all for stock market game.
Aug 30, 2007 11:53 AM
I guess all social networking sites are adopting the route, but why is every one so obsessed with bharatstudent.com? i have logged in to the site and never found any such objectionable content in the site. What ever said and done they have reached a state where people are talking about them (Good or Bad) just as all media is talking bad about orkut. lets not make it famous by talking about it if its not worth it.
Sep 21, 2007 11:03 PM
i agree with manoj ..i didnt saw any bad content in bharatstudent.com
Sep 21, 2007 11:08 PM
great discussion
Oct 6, 2007 2:45 PM
i saw there but i did nt got any volgure videos…
Oct 8, 2007 2:17 AM
BS guys are at it again.spamming the blog community now showing that bs as good site which is totally false-i have seen this vijay comments in many other blogs-guys get a life
Mar 11, 2008 12:58 AM
I have not seen any porn content in BS. Bs guys are doing a great thing by filtering all those unwanted content
Apr 1, 2008 2:57 AM
yes krishna you are really correct
Apr 18, 2008 12:52 PM
Bharatstudent.com as mentioned is being promoted by a person named Vishnu Vardhan Induri who is currently based in Hyderabad, India… but is actually from the city of Vijaywada.
He is a well known con man and has duped a lot of people.. including employees and suppliers… in his previous business of Event management.
Northgate’s top management has people from his old company Applogic , and thats why they have financed his scam of a site!
the site is a rip off of youtube and orkut and they are spamming the orkut accounts and emails of users all over India!
+ Axill ads is also helping them in this…. its a shame on the Internet and it should be shut down immediately!!!
Any original site is welcome… but promoting such a rip off site… with no original content.. is purely criminal… and am sure that it will stop working within the next 2 years… causing losses to the investors but.. making Mr.Vishnu seriously rich… something he is in the habit of doing…such a shame!!!
ban it!!!! lets look for originality and serious content… not copy and porn…
Oct 12, 2008 3:31 PM
Hello my friends,
All of my friend think about bharatstudent. But frined i like to share some thing about Social Media India Limited. This company having their affilaite system for indian publisher.
This company did not send payments to publisher within time, this company not give propeor support to their publisher. I have account on their website but when i ask for my earn money then their ppl gives worst answer . Such answer is not expact from them.
In india there are many company havnig affilate programs. and i wirk with many of them. But i never have such worst experience like this company.
THIS COMPANY WILL SHUT DOWN WITH IN NEXT FEW MONTHS I THINK SO.
PUBLISHER BECAREFUL WTIH THIS COMANPY.
This is my Experience wit this company.
Dec 11, 2008 4:07 AM
It seems NORTHGATE is gonna shut down all its operations and subsidiaries as they recorded poor performance and making huge losses. Anybody interested can buy!!
Badluck!